Icelandic Sorcery and Witchcraft Museum

I found something really interesting looking for Norse stuff.

It is the web page of the “Icelandic Sorcery and Witchcraft Museum”.

I’ve read some of the main pages, and I found them amazing. There is another way to understand those old rites and witch hunts; it seems as if they judge less those wizards and appreciate the tradition more as this… as tradition.

But there is some thing I’ve found ever more interesting and curious:

First of all, that the percentage of male-female accused for practicing magic is almost the opposite of ours: only the 10% of accused were women.

And, also, that there are a section in the page describing different spells as they were used. I mean, without the explanations we are used to here, such as “oh, yeah, here it says that this was blood, but in fact, it means… blablabla”.

I find extremely interesting how different woods are mixed with blood and words-symbols to make spells…

…and I find myself wishing more information about all of this.

There is an on-line shop, and the temptation of buy some books is strong… but, sadly, it doesn’t accept paypal payment… *so, you know, if you want to give me a gift.. 😛 *

What I know for sure is that, if I can go to Iceland one day, I want to visit this museum.

Icelandic Sorcery and Witchcraft Museum

This is a powerful protection against ghosts and witchcraft. It helps to recite: "Komi mér hjálp af jörðu, sigur af sólu, sæla af tungli, stoð af stjörnum og styrkur af englum drottins" More in the link above ^^

 

~ por kitiaralugrix en 08/05/2011.

Una respuesta to “Icelandic Sorcery and Witchcraft Museum”

  1. […] museo de magia y brujería de Islandia al que ya dediqué una entrada el año pasado más o menos *link* sobre precisamente eso, […]

Responder

 
